History of Oklahoma Sooner City Alumnae

The Oklahoma Sooner City Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, was established on May 4, 1991 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma at the Lincoln Plaza Hotel. Our 24 charter members were assisted by Minerva Sloss, past Regional Director, and Queen Fowler to bring our beloved chapter in the Oklahoma City metropolitan area to fruition!

The chapter’s first president was Dr. Cavannah M. Clark and hosted programs included Outstanding Young Gentlemen and Seasoned Warriors. We have been fortunate to see growth and change through our chapter, striving toward creating programs and events aligned with our 5 point programmatic thrust.

As members of the Charismatic & Courageous Central Region, we continue to work hard to implement the vision of our illustrious founders and trailblazing charter members.

Standing from left to right: Penny Emery, Mary Ann Easlick, Jacqueline Ceruti Johnson, Bernice Roper*, Malyne Hilburn*, Gloria Griffin, Lulla Wilson, Francine Williams*,                                                                                                                  Vanessa Thurman, Lennie Tolliver*, Charlotte Nixon, Evangie McGlon*, Dorothy Ross, Carla Clark, Jewell King                                                                                                                                                  Sitting from left to right: Phyllis Mitchell, Bessie Thompson, Verna Allen, Cavannah Clark*, Brenda Primas*, Lula Smith, Linda Johnson                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Not pictured: Arvella James*

                                                                                                                                                              * Member of the Omega Omega Chapter

error: Content is protected !!